Comerford and Albiero Named ACC Womens Swimmer and Coach of the Year

first_imgAlbiero also led the Cardinals to a third place finish at the ACC Championships, where Louisville won a total of eight individual medals and four relay medals, five of which were gold. By winning both the 100 and 200 freestyle, Comerford also became the first woman to accomplish the feat since Olympian Kara Lynn Joyce won both events at the 2006 NCAA Championships. The last person to secure victories in both freestyle distances was Louisville’s own Joao de Lucca at the 2014 Men’s NCAA Championships. Comerford also capped off her final season with a highly successful ACC Championships performance, winning the 100, 200 and 500 freestyle titles for the second consecutive season. By collecting her fourth straight gold in the 200 freestyle, Comerford established herself as the only woman in ACC Championships history to win the event all four years. For her efforts, Comerford was named ACC Championships MVP for the second season in a row. Mallory Comerford secured her third straight ACC Women’s Swimmer of the Year accolade, while Arthur Albiero was named ACC Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season. LOUISVILLE, Ky. – Following a record-breaking fourth place finish at the NCAA Championships, the University of Louisville women’s swimming and diving team earned a pair of ACC awards as announced by the conference office on Friday afternoon. Throughout the season, Comerford broke two individual UofL records, including the 500 freestyle at the ACC Championships with a time of 4:34.63 and the 50 free at NCAAs with a 21.49. She completes her career with school records in the 50, 100, 200 and 500 freestyles, as well as all five relays. Arthur Albiero Albiero earns his second straight ACC Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year honors after guiding the Cardinals to their first team trophy with a fourth place finish at the NCAA Championships, the highest finish in program history. The Cards’ fourth place showing was also the top finish among All ACC programs. Story Links Leading the Cardinals to their historic finish at the NCAA Championships, the senior won her third straight championship in the 200 freestyle, becoming the only Cardinal in history to win three titles in the same event. Just one day later, she captured her first 100 freestyle victory for a total of four career NCAA titles, matching Olympian Kelsi Worrell Dahlia with the most NCAA championships in program history. The Cardinals’ 235 points at NCAAs was also the highest total in school history, surpassing the 232 points from last year’s fifth place finish. In total, the Cards broke four program records, added five individual All-Americans in a combined eight events and had all-five relays earn All-American honors for the second straight year. Mallory ComerfordComerford collects her third consecutive ACC Women’s Swimmer of the Year honors after winning two titles at the NCAA Championships and three ACC Championships gold medals. With the award, Comerford becomes the first women’s swimmer in ACC history to receive the distinction three times throughout her career. ACC Award Winners Additionally, she broke her own ACC Championships record in the 100 freestyle with a time of 46.57 and is an ACC record holder in the 100 free, 200 free and 800 free relay. Following the completion of the NCAA Championships, Comerford solidified herself as a 10-time individual All-American and 16-time relay All-American. ACC Release Women’s Swimmer of the Year: Mallory Comerford, LouisvilleMen’s Swimmer of the Year: Coleman Stewart, NC StateWomen’s Diver of the Year: Alicia Blagg, MiamiMen’s Diver of the Year: Briadam Herrera, MiamiWomen’s Freshman of the Year: Sophie Hansson, NC StateMen’s Freshman of the Year: Nyls Korstanje, NC StateWomen’s Swim Coach of the Year: Arthur Albiero, LouisvilleMen’s Swim Coach of the Year: Braden Holloway, NC StateWomen’s Diving Coach of the Year: Randy Abelman, MiamiMen’s Diving Coach of the Year: Randy Abelman, Miami Print Friendly Versionlast_img